BOARD OF EDUCATION PLEASANT HILL R-III SCHOOL DISTRICT PLEASANT HILL, MISSOURI Open Minutes of Paggular Session

Open Minutes of Regular Session April 16, 2024

President Todd Wilson called the open session to order at 6:15p.m. at the Central Office at 318 Cedar.

CALL TO ORDER

Aiden Minor led the Pledge of Allegiance
Deenia Hocker recited the district's Mission Statement.

The following board members and district staff members were present (unless otherwise noted):

Board Members
Todd Wilson, President
Lori Redwine, Vice President
Lisa Vescovi
David Adamczyk
John Edenburn
Scott George
Travis Ross
District Staff Members
Dr. Wayne Burke-Superintendent
Dr. Suzanne Brennaman
Cathy Jobe, Board Secretary
Jana Little, Assistant Board Clerk

The motion was made by Travis Ross to approve the regular agenda. The motion was approved with a 7 yes and 0 no vote.

REGULAR AGENDA

Certification of Election- In accordance with the Revised Statutes of Missouri 115.124, the Pleasant Hill RIII School District did not hold an election for School Board members this year because the number of candidates who have filed is equal to the number of positions to be filled. The following are the candidates who will be sworn in- John Edenburn and Travis Ross.

Reorganization of Board

- A. Swear in newly elected members, John Edenburn, Travis Ross.
- B. Elect officers
 - a. President- Scott George made a motion to nominate Todd Wilson as board president. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.
 - b. Vice President- Travis Ross made a motion to nominate Lori Redwine as board Vice President. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.
 - c. Treasurer- Travis Ross made a motion to reinstate David Adamczyk as board treasurer. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.
 - d. Secretary- Lori Redwine made a motion to reinstate Cathy Jobe as board secretary. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.
- C. Appoint MSBA delegate and alternate- Travis Rossmade a motion to nominate Lisa Vescovi as board MSBA delegate and Scott George as the alternate delegate. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.

David Adamczyk requested that the Handbook Revisions be removed from the consent agenda and placed on the regular agenda

The consent agenda motion was approved with unanimous consent.

Consent Agenda was presented:

- A. Approve the minutes of the previous meeting dated March 19, 2024
- B. Approve the financial statements(Quarter Update), monthly bills, transfer of funds.

CONSENT AGENDA

- C. Misc. Contracts-Skill Struck AI, Manage Methods, Class Link, Hop,Skip,Drive (Transportation), Lock Bids and High School Asphalt Project
- D. Program Evaluations- Community Relations
- E. Curricular Surplus
- F. Tech Surplus

Student Recognition-

Dr. Paul Canaan presented to the Board Ms. Tory Long and her FCCLA team. Ms. Tory Long presented to the Board an overview of the FCCLA program and the growth they have had over last year. Cooper Kent , Madison Wilson, and Jessica Gonzalez shared with the board a summary of each of their topics in the FCCLA District and State Competition this year. Congratulation to the team on their success this season and good luck to them next year.

Dr. Paul Canaan presented to the Board Coach Wyatt and some participants and coaches from the 2023--24 Mens and Women's wrestling team.

Coach Wyatt provided a summary of the wrestling season. The team placed 6th in state this year. Troy Gustin placed 3rd in 150lb, Aiden Minor placed 6th in 138lb and Alana Thelon was State Champion in Women's 170lb.

Congratulations to the team on a successful season.

-Salary Schedule Recommendation-

Dr. Michael Weishaar presented to the board his recommendation for the FY25 Salary Schedule. This recommendation would allow a 4.05% overall increase to staff salaries. This includes servicing all of the salary schedules and making additions to the cells in all of the salary schedules.

Scott George made the motion to approve the FY25 Salary Schedule Recommendation as presented.

George-yes, Adamczyk-yes, Ross-yes, Vescovi-yes, Redwine-yes, Edenburn-abstain, Wilson-yes. With a vote of 6 yes and 0 no the motion was approved.

Enterprise Proposal-Dr. Wayne Burke presented to the board his recommendation to lease vehicles from Enterprise for District use. Lor Redwine asked that the district look into leasing minivans to accommodate more groups in the district.

Lori Redwine made the motion to approve the recommendation to lease vehicles from Enterprise for District use.

George-yes, Adamczyk-yes, Ross-yes, Vescovi-yes, Redwine-yes, Edenburn-yes, Wilson-yes. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.

ICI presentation to BOE- The Instructional coaches presented to the board their plans for creating vertical teams to create coherence across buildings and grade levels.

Policy Updates-Dr. Wayne Burke presented the following MSBA policy updates: GBEBA, GBEBA-AF1, GBEBB, JFCH, JFCI (version 1), JFG, JG-R5, JHCD, KK, GBEBB-AP1, JFCI-AP1(version 1), JHCD-AP2, KG-AP1, KK-AP1, EHBD, EHBD-AP1 Travis Ross made the motion to adopt the presented MSBA policies. George-yes, Adamczyk-yes, Ross-yes, Vescovi-yes, Redwine-yes, Edenburn-yes, Wilson-yes. With a vote of 7 yes and 0 no the policies were adopted.

Handbook revisions- The Board asked for clarification of several of the revisions in the school handbooks. Todd Wilson tabled the Handbook revisions until the May meeting.

Board Comments-

Lori Redwine thanked the Calary committee for their time and diligence in working with Dr. Weishaar to compose the updated salary schedule recommendation.

The Board Welcomes John Edenburn to the Board.

Superintendent Comments

Dr. Burke invited the Board to our Sweet Reward Award Banquet on May 1st in the High School Commons.

May 9-High School Graduation

The motion was made by Scott George to adjourn the regular meeting at 7:54 p.m. and enter into closed session with closed record and closed vote pursuant to Section 610.021 (3) of Missouri Law.Vescovi-yes; Redwine-yes; George-absent; Wilson-yes; Edenburn-yes; Ross-yes Adamczyk-yes The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.

President Todd Wilson reconvened the open session at 9:50 pm

With no further business the motion was made by Scott George to adjourn the meeting at 9:51 p.m. The motion was approved with a vote of 6 yes and 0 no.

ADJOURN